Uncategorized

Vegan Fried Egg

Eggs, Delicious, nutritious, not ours.

For a while now I have been wanting to try and recreate the perfect egg yolk, it is tasty and comforting and a quick and easy breakfast choice, but as vegans, there are obvious obstacles in our way. A few days ago I have a Stroke of inspiration when I had some left over Homemade sourdough and a block of Tofu in the fridge.

I rushed into the kitchen and made a start!!

Ingredients

Slices of Tofu

2 tablespoons of egg replacer. (I used Ener-g)

1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast flakes

1 tsp of black salt (Kala Namak)

2 tablespoons of vegan spread

A pinch of Turmeric

some baking soda (I used 1.5 teaspoons but it might vary)

Recipe

1.In a saucepan mix the Egg replacer, Nutritional yeast flakes and Black salt together with a little pinch of turmeric for colour.

2.Add in the Vegan spread and place over a low heat, mixing until smooth.

3.Gradually add in a tablespoon, of water at a time, until you get a consistency you are happy with.

4. Time to taste test. At this point, mine was a little Tangy, a little baking soda helped balance this out.

5. In the meantime, Cut some tofu into your “fried egg” shape, I just went for a rectangle purely for simplicity. Cut out the centre a little, this is where the “yolk” will go.

6. Sprinkle with a little black salt, for the eggy flavour, and fry on either side.

7. place your “yolk” in the centre of your “egg” and heat through.

I finished this off by placing my “egg” on a slice of my toasted sourdough with a little black pepper and chopped chives.fried egg complete

Enjoy.

Let me know if you try this recipe and what you thought of it.

ThisGayVegan.

One thought on “Vegan Fried Egg

Leave a Reply

